The Monster Inside Me

I put the eggs on his plate,
He pours milk in my coffee,
I smile at him,
And he smiles back at me,
But he doesn’t know,
And he doesn’t see,
The monster that’s there,
Inside of me

He calls me from his office,
I was staring with dead eyes at the wall,
No honey, everythings okay,
Nothing wrong at all,
He doesn’t hear,
And he doesn’t see,
He doesn’t know,
There’s a monster inside of me.

He makes a silly joke,
As we go out to eat,
I laugh and put my mask on.
As he pulls out my seat,
Because he shouldn’t know,
Shouldn’t have to see,
Shouldn’t have to live,
With the monster inside of me.

He calls me sweet names,
And holds my hand in the car,
I quietly smooth over the band-aid,
That’s hiding my new scar,
Because he can’t know,
He can’t ever see,
He mustn’t find out,
There’s a monster inside of me.

He tells me he loves me,
As he kisses me goodnight,
I pull the blankets over us,
There’s a cold within me tonight,
I won’t let him feel it,
I won’t let him see,
I won’t let him find out,
There’s a monster inside of me.

But I can’t stop the sobs,
That choke me every night,
He asks sleepily what’s wrong,
I whisper “I’m alright”
Because I am as long as he doesn’t know,
For his sake I pray and plea,
I’ll save him from ever knowing,
The monster inside me.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

