Yet Another Day

The words pop up,

Out of songs,

The books I read

 

And I remember.

 

It would have been years,

Years of beauty

Of Joy

 

Come this November.

 

I’ll hear your voice in the crowd,

As I walk down streets,

Head bowed down

 

I close my eyes in pain.

 

The memories come up

So unexpectedly

Out of nowhere

 

I can’t face being alone again.

 

My heart clutches

I see you everywhere

All the time

 

But you’re no longer here.

 

I know it’s time to be strong

Move on

Move forward

 

But to where?

 

So let me cry a little longer

Grieve

And mourn

 

Just a little bit more

 

Till I no longer pick up the phone

Expecting your bright hello

Till I don’t wish to see your face,

 

Every time I walk to the door.

 

Just a little time longer,

To sit on the bench

Where we first met

 

When all our beauty just started.

 

Let me think of you,

All of you,

Most especially,

 

How soon you departed

 

Then, when I’m stiff and cold,

From having sat too long

And cried too much

 

I’ll get up and walk away

 

Never looking back,

Wiping the last tear

Saying goodbye and facing alone,

 

Yet another day.

https://d19tqk5t6qcjac.cloudfront.net/i/412.html

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yet Another Day

  1. Sean King says:

    Powerful… I love it…

Leave a Reply

