An Ode to You, My Darling.

Image

Twenty years of loving you,

Twenty years of bliss,

Twenty years of being with you,

Today ended with a kiss.

 

An ode to you, My Darling,

An ode to the life we had,

An ode to the way you made life beautiful,

And kept it from going bad,

 

We promised each other forever,

Twenty years ago when we wed,

And not a minute have I regretted,

Making the promises I said.

 

An ode to you My Darling,

To our love that still burns bright,

To memories that are all I have now,

That you have left me in the night

 

Our hearts were young and joyful,

And have remained that way throughout,

Your smile was always my beacon,

A candle now blown out.

 

An ode to you, My Darling,

To your kind and perfect soul,

To your graceful lovely person,

The gift that kept me whole.

 

I miss your footsteps in the house,

Your voice calling out my name,

If I close my eyes in our bedroom,

It still feels exactly the same

 

An ode to you, My Darling,

To our whispers in the night,

Our evenings in the porch,

Dances in the moonlight.

 

Your face grew lined and wrinkled,

And I loved you all the more,

For the years you gave to me,

Each sweeter than the one before,

 

An ode to you, My Darling,

Blessed salvation that you were to me,

I buried you this morning,

After twenty years of glee,

 

Twenty years of loving you,

Twenty years of Grace,

Twenty years of your hand in mine,

Seeing your beloved face.

 

An ode to you, My Darling,

Rest well till I come too,

Till then always knowing,

My Darling, I love you

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Ode to You, My Darling.

  1. Shaikh says:

    Very beautiful, and very sad

  2. words4jp says:

    this is beyond beautiful – a truly loving tribute – I really love this piece.

  3. Ahmer says:

    This is a beautiful piece on Love & Belongingness

Leave a Reply

