These Four Walls

Image

The walls I’ve built around me

These brittle figments

That exist only in my mind

Four barricades that surround me

So comforting, So reassuring

So kind

My imaginary shields

That follow me

Wherever I may go

As I trespass on the barbs of

Old memories, old pain,

Remembering people I used to know

An unreal strength

A protection that

Only I can feel

A place

Where I finally

Can be real

The four walls around me

Boxing up

Closing in

The four walls that surround me

Standing tall

From where they begin

Claustrophobia

May set in

Till I shatter the walls of my mind

For now I’ll move around

In my rectangular bubble

Deaf, dumb and blind

//

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Camouflage, Memories, Poetry, Survival, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to These Four Walls

  1. words4jp says:

    I can really connect with this piece. I realize 4 walls are limiting and confining, but they feel safe. I would like to feel safe.

  2. jgrozny says:

    Beautifully written piece, Sahar.

  3. Shaikh says:

    Still have writer’s block? 😦 How are you? How is everything?

Leave a Reply

