While Everybody Sleeps

Image

The night stretches on forever

I sit alone

I wait alone

 

Dawn comes slowly,

As I wait bitterly

For each hour to pass

 

Inside I am praying,

For an end to the night

To the dawn, to everything in sight

 

I sit curled up,

Staring in the distance,

Feeling neither weariness nor life

 

Im just waiting

For another day

That will turn into another night

 

I listen to conversations,

Within myself,

Bored, as each minute crawls by,

 

Why wont dawn come,

Im waiting,

I heave a sigh

 

Sleep is a missed friend

It bought oblivion

When the dark was there

 

But it evades me now,

And as the night clings to me

I find I don’t care

 

I sit on waiting

Always waiting

For the dawn to rise

 

The night stretches on,

Silent.. Surreal..

I watch with dead eyes.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to While Everybody Sleeps

  1. words4jp says:

    I have this happen many nights. You described these moments perfectly:)

  2. johncoyote says:

    A solemn feel to the poem. Hoping for the safety of a new day. Thank you for sharing the excellent poetry.

Leave a Reply

