A Year Ago

Image

How far have I come from a year ago?

What have I seen and done?

 

Did I do anything worthwhile?

Or did I waste 12 months in fun?

 

They smile and say Im a year older now

And ask me if that’s how I feel?

 

But I feel younger than ever before

Growing up just doesn’t seem real

 

A year ago 19 was too far away

To think and worry about

 

I just wanted to enjoy being 18

To laugh and live and shout

 

But that was a year ago

And now people are looking at me

 

Asking if I feel different now?

Asking if I feel 19-ly.

 

Im not quite sure how I feel

Now that I am 1 year older

 

1 year away from a long ago childhood

1 year wiser, stronger bolder

 

But at the same time a year ago

I was a year away from being all grown up

 

And now that it’s a year from then,

I still feel sort of stuck

 

Am I grown..or still a child?

I cannot tell for sure

 

I just became used to being 18

And now must act a year more mature

 

So no I don’t feel older or 19 like,

Not more than I did before

 

But I will hurry and celebrate it now,

Before 20 comes knocking at the door!

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year Ago

  1. words4jp says:

    happy birthday!! You are a lovely young lady – 🙂

Leave a Reply

