Broken Promises

Image

Broken promises

Shattered on the floor

Staring at us.. silent witnesses

As you move towards the door

 

We tore ourselves apart again

Watched as the world came caving in

I give up .. its over

Guess you finally win

 

All you said

All your lies

What were you thinking?

Behind smiling eyes

 

But maybe I’m bitter

Blaming it on you

Are you gonna tell me?

It’s my fault too

 

Maybe things weren’t right

Never have been

Should have noticed all the signs

The ones I hoped wouldn’t be seen

 

Wasn’t supposed to be this way

Was supposed to be a fairytale end

But sometimes there’s more than thrown crockery

That time and glue need to mend

 

But how does one get up, move on

Walk away from what was supposed to be

The best part of my life

The most important to me

 

So I’ll stand at the door,

Fruitless words on my lips

As you walk away

With your hurtful whips

 

Your shoulders bent.. defeated

As one by one the memories fall to the ground

Shattering into the distant past

Just like the promises all around

 

 

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Anger, Betrayal, Journey, Love, Memories, Pain, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Promises

  1. words4jp says:

    So, so beautiful:) Sad, yes, but so beautifully written. I love your work and always wait in anticipation for your next piece! The wait is always well worth it!

Leave a Reply

