Cold Eyes

Image

Cold eyes.

You have cold eyes

In my dreams you have cold eyes

Where once warmth burst out.

 

Icy voice.

Your icy voice

Its echoing around me

Crescendo-ing into a shout

 

Tears that never stop falling

Memories that never stop calling

Can I go on?

Can I make it?

 

They said it would fade in time

Said I would forget

Were they lying?

Did they mistake it?

 

I know we said goodbyes,

Burnt bridges and let go

I know we said our sorry’s

And managed smiles before we turned away

 

So why am I still here?

On the crossroads where we first broke apart

Why cant I move past those seconds

Those seconds that ripped us apart that day

 

I’ve walked too many roads

Thinking how they might have ended

How things might have been good

So that now the memories would make me smile

 

But all I can do in the present

Is wonder about the pain

Will it take a few hours to die down?

Or will it take a longer while

 

I say I’m ok and laugh it off

Mingle in the people walking up and down streets

But I’m really hearing your icy voice

And seeing your cold eyes

 

And I’m waiting for the pain to fade

The memories to finally leave me

I’m waiting for all the nightmares to the end

As the sun finally begins to rise.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Betrayal, Friendship, History, Journey, Love, Memories, Pain, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cold Eyes

  1. sethsnap says:

    I hate those cold eyes. The ones that haunt you. Thanks.. Beautiful.

  2. Great goods from you, man. I’ve remember your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve obtained right here, certainly like what you are stating and the best way by
    which you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to learn far more from you. This is really
    a terrific website.

Leave a Reply

