54 Sins To Repay

Image

The crowd stands silent

All dressed in black

Eyes narrowed, pinched faces

Tight lips, stiff back

 

They have condemned me to the gallows

Sentenced me to die today

The devil never wears halos

But there are 54 sins to repay

 

You can see that they deem me guilty,

The verdict lies in their eyes

They think my actions sinister

They call my words lies

 

They have condemned me to the gallows

They want me to die today

They wear self righteous halos

But there are 54 sins to repay

 

I cant say I’m sorry

Not after all I have done

I have always been the convict

Now is the end of my run

 

They have condemned me to the gallows

They call for my neck today

The sinners can never wear halos

But there are 54 sins to repay

 

But I cant go on to Hell right now

Not with 54 crimes around my neck

They don’t care for me to repay them

They’d rather I didn’t fulfill my debt

 

They have condemned me to the gallows

I will die today

For me they are no halos

But there are 54 sins to repay

 

The noose is around my neck

The crowd looks on, no mercy

The executioners eyes are dead

There are none to mourn me.

 

They condemned me to the gallows

The last sunrise starts to fade

Please may the angels at least wear halos

54 sins

Never to be repaid

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Betrayal, Crime, Death, History, Journey, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 54 Sins To Repay

  1. splitspeak says:

    this is so powerful. very well done!

Leave a Reply

