My Pain And I

Image

They locked us in a room

My pain and I

We were left staring

Eye to Eye

From across the room

We sat and stared

Its eyes were haunted

Its fangs bared

We didn’t move

As the hours passed

Each minute more tense

Then the last

My pains gaze

Is fixed on me

Its growing impatient

Its growing hungry

I barely breathe

As it grows in our small cell

How long has it been?

I cannot tell

Red and black flash

Between our still souls

Im as cold as ice

Im as hot as coals

My pain leans forward

I break out in sweat

It remains silent

As I lose myself in dread

I startle as I hear a sob

Was that sound mine?

But my pain sits there unblinking

As the sob grows into a whine

The room is darkening

I sense an end

I want to get to my knees

Beg my pain to be a friend

It crooks a finger

And I shiver in fear

Even as helplessly

I draw near

The tension grows taught

Tears slip from my eyes

As a red flame grows

And my own fire dies

Its mouth moves

Its about to speak

I can see my eternity

It looks bleak

It whispers “Break”

In tones meant to freeze

And I start to scream

Falling to my knees.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Pain, Poetry, Survival, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Pain And I

  1. abichica says:

    so powerful! your words are filled with power, with despair… 😀

Leave a Reply

