I Can Hear Them

Image

I can hear them

Voices that don’t stop

Screams that never end

 

I can hear them,

Yelling at each other

Wanting each other to bend

 

I can hear them,

Even though Im under my bed

Eyes squeezed tight, fingers in ears

 

I can hear them,

Dad in a drunken rage

Mother in tears

 

I can hear them,

And I know come tomorrow

Dad will kiss my head and go to office

 

I can hear them,

And I know Mom will give that wobbly smile

That’s supposed to suffice

 

I can hear them

And a crash shakes the room

My heart beats like a bird

 

I cannot hear them

Not a shout

not a word

 

I cannot hear them

Its morning

And dads gone away

 

I cannot hear them

I go to their room,

To hide myself away

 

I cannot hear them

Theres a bottle of perfume

Broken on the floor

 

I cannot hear them

Theres glass all around

Its quieter then ever before

 

I cannot hear them

The scent invades my mind

As I cry

 

I cannot hear them

So me and the perfume keep each other company

On the floor where we both lie

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Anger, Betrayal, Family, Poetry, Uncategorized, War and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

