The Pledge

Image

I pledged my soul to the wide blue sea,

It rose and swirled inside of me,

And gave me strength,

To flow with the past,

And set my heart at peace

At last.

I pledged my soul to the vast azure sky,

It breathed and flew,

As a sigh,

And gave me freedom,

To sway the past,

And set my heart at peace,

At last.

I pledged my soul to the orange flames of fire,

It raged and burned

And brought me higher,

And gave me the passion,

To consume the past,

And set my heart at peace

At last

I pledged my soul to the warm brown earth,

It nourished and grew,

To build up my worth,

And gave me the serenity,

To take root within my past,

And set my heart at peace,

At last

I pledged my soul to the purple shadows,

It softened and hushed,

My false bravado,

And gave me the calm,

To silence my past,

And set my heart at peace

At last

I pledged my soul to you my friend,

And pain arose,

Once again,

And gave me purpose

to relive my past,still sore,

And rip my heart to shreds,

Once More.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

