Betrayed

Image

Traitor, Traitor

In the dark of night,

Why do you tremble..

As if in fright..

Your day of reckoning

has passed and gone,

No need for  false sighs,

there is no lost freedom to mourn..

But before you go,

Your life free of your crime,

look at what has

become of  mine.

Murderer, Murderer

of my dreams,

See my tears,

Hear my silent screams,

You tore down hope,

And let me drift,

And smilingly walked away..

from all we had built..

Robber, robber,

Of my peace,

Your trial maybe over,

My pain shall not cease..

You leave without,

a sigh of regret,

Promising to never remember..

But i shall never forget

My friend, my friend

Where have you gone,

You were just an illusion,

But at least i wasn’t alone

I have absolved you,

and let go of what was once mine,

And i stand in the gallows,

waiting for the cure of time.

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Betrayed

  1. ModWestMuse says:

    MashaAllah, this is a great poem. I love the flow and the sentiment.

    I read this as follows: the innocent is accused and on trial; the accuser is the criminal and wantonly free.

    Hmm sounds familiar… (Guantanamo… Palestine…)

  2. Shaikh says:

    ooooohhhsssssssss…the direct mode of address to the reader sends chills down my spine

Leave a Reply

