Chains

Image

This poem I wrote when I felt the world wasn’t letting me be me.. that i was chained up by conventions because people didnt like difference.. didnt like change… I hope the symbolism appeals!

They clipped my wings,

And stole my flight,

Caged me in,

With bars gilded and bright,

They took my flame,

And left me cold,

My pride destroyed,

My independance sold,

As an added taunt,

they let me see,

The light-blue sky,

where i once reigned free,

The promising wind,

calls my name,

Offering freedom,

An end to pain,

But they wont ever,

Let me fly,

They mock me,

and my sky..

Cruel and over bearing,

They chain me down,

Wanting me to,

Take root in their ground,

But i see much,

That they have not,

I see wild beauty,

They see what cant be caught,

I see horizons,

I dream to touch,

They claim only fools,

Can dream of such,

I strain to the Northern Star,

Desperate to reach,

So high so far,

And i know one day,

That if i will,

They shall all,

Stop me still,

And beg me to take.

Them along,

To let them fly,

To help sing the sky’s song,

And if i say,

Why not yourself try,

For once those,

mocking eyes wont lie,

For a second their arrogance shall fade,

And they will whisper,

We are afraid..

About saharsalman

Aspiring poet. Spectator of life. Words of Whim.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chains

  1. Everything I have read so far is just amazing…You have such a talent painting pictures with words.

  2. Pawan Hira says:

    …..and there you have your thoughts — your own thoughts.

    Beautifully expressed. On the whole, I can relate to this. 🙂

  3. Faiza Chishti says:

    This one’s my favourite! Keep up the good work Sahar 🙂

  4. lmcdaniel says:

    GOOD JOB HOLDING THE READERS ATTENTION VERY EXPRESSIVE

Leave a Reply

